## INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY CELEBRATIONS AT WESTERN REGION OFFICE ON $10^{\rm TH}$ MARCH'2014

## Independent Director, IndianOil participates in Women's Day celebrations at WRO



Ms. Shyamala Gopinath, Independent Director, IndianOil and Chairperson, Clearing Corporation of India Ltd., was the Chief Guest for the Women's Day celebrations held at Western Regional Office. All the women employees of Western Region and Maharashtra State Office attended the day long celebrations. During her address, Ms. Gopinath highlighted that "Women should never hesitate to take firm decisions when confronted with issues, be firm and exercise their discretion to find solutions." Women should always improve their skills, never hesitate to learn and acquire new abilities and expertise, was her firm advice.

Ms. Rachel Mathew, Past President, WIPS Apex chapter and DGM (IA), WR welcomed the gathering and said, "WIPS is a strong network of women employees, to facilitate women, to excel in their work. Women should embrace changes or movements in work boldly and overcome personal difficulties to excel in their professional front." She urged the audience to be bold and decisive and bring out their innate potential, without getting bogged down with temporary troubles.

Ms. Sabitha Natraj, Sr. Mgr. (CC), WR made a presentation on "Lean In : Women, Work and the Will to Lead" by Sheryl Sandberg, COO, Facebook. The thoughts highlighted include, leadership ambition gap, stereotype threats, overcoming fear, self doubts, gender biases, women against other women syndromes and research based highlights on gender discrimination issues.

Ms. Mumtaz Nazir felicitated the sports women and Mrs. Suman Tiwari felicitated the retiring women employees.

Ms. Nanda Dalvi, Manager (LPG), Pune AO held an interesting LPG safety clinic session with a quiz. All the women employees participated in the safety clinic enthusiastically.

The programme included an hour long fun and games session. Ms. Garima Gupta, Accounts Officer and Ms. Rita Behera, AO were chosen as the winners and runner up respectively in the Ms. IndianOIL (Juniors) and Ms. Savithri Arora, SFM, WR and Ms. Natraj were chosen as the winners and runner up respectively in the Mrs. IndianOil (Seniors).